Straight for the Gut

That moment when you find out another fertile friend is pregnant from just having plain ol’ S-E-X.

@)(&$@)(*%@*&$$*@)$*@!$(*&#%(*$_@

… is how I feel about that.

“Oh my gosh, we’re so sorry. We will be praying for you guys. Is there anything we can do?”

Yea. Don’t get pregnant before me.

Oh dear Jesus, is that so wrong of me? I know it is, but that’s how I feel.

I mean, we know it’s going to happen, right? The world around us is getting pregnant; it’s inevitable.

But, damn, does it hurt.

Oh well. Another one bites the dust.

I’m happy to report I’m still human, though, because the last thing I’d want is for any of my friends to suffer the hell of infertility.

So, there’s that.

*** If you’re reading this, I love you! It’s not you; it’s me. Regarding that, “Is there anything we can do?” part, please just understand that I struggle with this kind of news and probably always will. Your friendship means so much to me, and we’re all going to live happily ever after with our babies.

6 thoughts on “Straight for the Gut

  1. I know I already have 1 child and another on the way, but many other people’s announcements STILL cause a twinge of sadness/jealousy for me… so I guess the good news is, you’re normal 🙂

  2. Oh man, this is hard. Reallllly hard! Always is and after reading Allison’s comment, I fear it always will be :(. Ugh!

  3. It is SO hard to take pregnancy news from friends who have never struggled with infertility. But it sounds like you’re handling it with grace and a measure of self-protection, which is awesome!

  4. Wow, this is such an accurate account of what it’s like to find out that life [unfortunately] has a way of going on without us infertiles :/ I understand every ounce of this post!!!!

Leave a Reply

