January 28, 2013

Let’s discuss how many times I’ve been to the doctor since the start of my first IVF.

Dec. 23, Dec. 26, Dec. 31, Jan. 18, Jan. 21, Jan. 23, Jan. 25, Jan. 27, Jan. 28

And I’ll probably go again tomorrow.

So, ten times in the past five … six weeks..?

You know what? It doesn’t bother me. This is going to sound really, really weird, but—I kind of like it. This may come as a surprise to most of you, but some of you (i.e. my husband) will totally understand my “reasoning.”

Going to the doctor every other day makes me feel relevant. It keeps my issue current. I like that. I like to know what’s going on with my body. I like for Mary and Dr. Levens to know about my existence. It’s not that they would forget; it just makes this experience more real and, well, relevant.

Today is day 11 of injections. I think tonight is my last set of injections. My estrogen is 2,219! Crazy!!! My follicles are getting nice and big. I can kind of feel my ovaries, but not insanely. I thought I’d feel a lot heavier at this point. It doesn’t help that I have that haven’t-worked-out-in-a-week bloat going on. Oh well, at least not having worked out didn’t hurt my follicle growth, right? I’ll get in a couple of hard work outs in between my retrieval and transfer (if the doctor says it’s okay). We’ll see. It’s not the end of the world anyway. Besides, this is why I worked out so hard before injections/retrieval/transfer. I worked it hard because I was going to take a break. So—it’s all good.

So, back to the doctor I go again tomorrow morning. Hopefully my eggies are nice and ready to be retrieved.

*** August 8, 2013: Good heavens, why was I so obsessed with working out? I like how I actually thought I’d exercise in between the retrieval and transfer … NOT!

One thought on “January 28, 2013

  1. So funny – I totally agree with this. When I’m cycling, I’m obsessed with being at the doctor’s office. I want to go every day to see what’s going on in my uterus!

Leave a Reply

