2.5 Dozen Plus 1

My doctor retrieved 31 eggs this morning.

I am allowing this high count to keep me peaceful, though I won’t receive the fertilization report until tomorrow.

Dear Jesus, I pray that the fertilization rate is spectacular.

Knowing we have numbers on our side obviously makes me feel better, but … There’s a but.

The procedure today was a lot more special than egg retrievals past (or is it passed?) because MY doctor was the one doing the procedure. I don’t know how your clinics operate, but a woman’s doctor at Shady Grove isn’t always the one who retrieves and/or transfers. All the doctors are wonderful, so I’ve always felt very safe with whomever was helping me achieve pregnancy. But I seriously love my doctor and was sooo happy to know that he’d be the one retrieving my eggs. ๐Ÿ™‚

Some other encouraging news is that my doctor decided to do assisted hatching for my embryos this time. ๐Ÿ™‚ If assisted hatching only helps and can’t hurt, I’m not sure why every woman’s embryos aren’t automatically “hatched with assistance.” Maybe it’s just one of those things that isn’t necessary if it’s not necessary. Ha! I don’t know. Does it cost more? I’m on a shared risk program so maybe I don’t need to pay for it anyway…? Obviously I know all the ins and outs of assisted hatching … not. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I had a feeling the recovery this time would be a bit more rough than last time. I just felt really “full” going into the procedure today, more bloated and Mother Goose-ish than I had during my last two retrievals. Well … recovery was, in fact, a bit more rough. Other than the expected cramping, the inside of my vagina was aching real bad, and IV meds weren’t helping fast enough or at all. I could handle the pain, though; I was more worried, honestly. So my doctor did a quick exam and said that everything looks fine. Phew! I’m doing better at home, though urinating is kind of challenging and digestive gas is KILLER! I’m also bleeding just a tiny bit, but that’s to be expected (though I didn’t bleed after my last two retrievals). I just want to be perfectly healed for my transfer, so I’ll take it easy and stay ahead of the pain.

Well, I think that’s it. I would really appreciate your prayers for a good fertilization report tomorrow. Ugh, I just want to know that things are on track. Please, please, please, God.

3 thoughts on “2.5 Dozen Plus 1

Leave a Reply

