Day 1 Fertilization Report

At 10:00 a.m. the phone rings.

I mute the TV, and my husband lets out a sigh.

Thank God they didn’t wait all day to call as I’ve been praying my heart out, didn’t sleep well, and have been up since 7:30 a.m.

The nurse/embryologist/whatever introduces herself and tells me what I already know … 31 eggs retrieved. Cut to the chase lady.

Then she tells me that 11 of the 31 eggs were mature.

My heart plummets. Fuck.

Then … she tells me nine eggs were fertilized and are growing normally!!!!

THANK YOU JESUS.

This is the best fertilization report I’ve ever received regarding the ratio between mature and fertilized eggs. These are the most day 1 embryos I’ve ever had too. Suuuuure, I got my hopes up a little bit when I found out I had 31 eggs, but, like I said yesterday, the large quantity gave me some peace for at least a day. Of course it was possible to have way more mature eggs and, therefore, embryos. But, honestly? This is a solid, realistic outcome. And, the most exciting part is that a great majority of my mature eggs actually fertilized. I’m no doctor, but this leads me to believe that my mature eggs were far more healthy than my mature eggs in the past.

I am very content with this result. Obviously I would have wanted a higher number, but that’s only because my expectations lifted a tiny bit after I heard the count yesterday. If you remember from Thursday, I wasn’t even sure how many eggs would be retrieved because of my cyst and the overall sizes of my largest follicles.

I so wish I could have spoken to my doctor today because he usually offers a lot more detail regarding everything and its mother. I asked the woman what the health of my eggs were like and if there was a high vacuolization rate. She didn’t have that information available to her, but it doesn’t really matter because, again, the fertilization rate is the best it’s ever been. Obviously the vacuolization rate was far lower than it has been in the past, so I’m just going with that.

Thank you, ladies, for your prayers. They mean so much and have helped so much. My situation has turned around for the better ever since I publicly asked for prayer. Gee, who’d have thought? 😉

Okay, so far so good, right?

4 thoughts on “Day 1 Fertilization Report

  1. This is WONDERFUL news! I can totally understand the frustration after hearing 31 eggs… I’ll be that person too, but nine is a really awesome, solid number! Wishing you the very, very best over the next several days! Praying for a beautiful, healthy five day transfer! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

