Day 2 Report

Can I just say that you women are my saving grace?

Gosh, I’m so blessed to have found you all. Yesterday I was pretty doom and gloom (though I didn’t shed a tear), ready to throw the towel in emotionally on this cycle. You all truly inspire me with your words of encouragement.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

My doctor called just a few minutes ago. Today he is looking for the embryos to be between two and six cells.

We have two 6-cell, one 5-cell, and one 4-cell embryos. He said there’s no fragmentation (yet). So basically they’re all on track, but two are winning the race. All of my past cycles have shown fragmentation at this point; all expect my last cycle. My previous cycle, though, just showed a decreased growth between day 3 and day 5. You can’t have it all, huh?

He wants to transfer three again, so we are doing a day 3 transfer. I know there’s a “pretend” belief that day 5 transfers are better. I kind of believe that too. If we were only transferring one or two, day 5 would probably be a better idea. But our options are limited, and we’re transferring three anyway.

I told him I was expecting crappy news but that I’m actually a little bit encouraged. The man has no emotional inflection in his voice, so I asked him over and over again if this was kind of good. He said he knows it’s an uphill battle; he’s an internal optimist; but he’s happy with the report. That means a lot coming from Dr. Levens. One thing I know for sure: He will never, ever bull shit me.

I’m a little disappointed that I won’t know their blastocyst status because they’ll be inside me. I just won’t know … so that sucks. I asked if my uterus will help their growth from day 3 to day 5 (unlike last time when their growth slowed down). He said it won’t necessarily help if they are already doomed to slow down, but since there’s so little to choose from, he’d rather have them in their natural environment than risk something going wrong in the lab.

Alright, that’s it for today. xoxo …

10 thoughts on “Day 2 Report

  1. I am so relieved that you are doing a 3day transfer! I was worried that you would lose too many by day 5. Remember waiting to day 5 doesn’t make them better, it just makes the shining stars more obvious. I’m so excited that there is no fragmentation! Don’t worry about your doctor’s dead pan reaction. Yesterday my doctor told me in another life he would have never chosen reproductive endocrinology because there is way too much disappointment. Sometimes they have to manage they own expectations and let downs too.

  2. I’m so happy to hear that you have gotten good news about your three embryos! I am hoping and praying they keep going strong and make themselves at home on your three day transfer!!!

  3. It sounds good. I was worried about my recent 3 day transfer and the same thing – would they even make it to day 5. They transferred 3 c grade with fragmentation (nothing to freeze)…anyway at least one has taken and I am pregnant. I hope the same for you. We all deserve the best news.

Leave a Reply

