Emily

The passwords are “Emily”.

No one needs shielding now; the cat is out of the bag.

And my catheter is back in. How one can tinkle in a bed pan is a mystery to me. And I had to GO. They gave me numbing medicine through the IV to actually numb my bladder – not just my urethra. After I started shaking from the magnesium drip, they offered some anxiety medicine. Thank you Heavenly Father.

Well, I feel like shit. It’s true – the magnesium drip is not fun. But my blood pressure is down so that’s all that matters. I got the second steroid shot for my babies’ lungs.

I’m pretty much done with work now – arranging for maternity leave. I will be in the hospital until the babies are born. My assertive, tall, dark, handsome, and seasoned doctor’s goal is 36 weeks. Men: What would we do without them?

Really, though, he thinks he can only keep the pre-eclampsia under control until 30 weeks.

So, that’s 30 weeks GA for Rowan and 28 weeks GA for Emmanuelle.

That’s too soon but better than today, right? Come on, Emmanuelle, grow baby girl.

Please pray for my precious daughters. I want them. I have to have them.

36 thoughts on “Emily

  1. Oh love! What a ridiculously overwhelming few weeks! I’m so sorry you felt you needed to put a password on these posts… but the girls will rally around you and your sweet babies now that we know. We love you, we are FOR you, and we want you to have your precious babies just as much as you do!

    Check your email soon, Aubrey’s going to email you.

  2. I’ve been following your blog but never commented before. First congrats on your pregnancy. I know it’s seems like a huge mountain to climb but you will get through this. I started losing my amniotic fluid at 30 weeks, which put me at risk for pre-mature delivery. Like you I received the steroid shots for the baby’s lungs and was constantly monitored. My baby was born over a week ago at 33 weeks. Although I was scared out of my mind, I also knew that in NICU she would get the best care. And she did. Thanks to the shots, she was on a respirator only a few hours as her lungs were mature enough for her to breath on her own. A week later, she has gained almost a pound and only requires a feeding tube.

    Please take care of yourself and continue to rest. It is the best thing that you can do for your girls. I know about the guilt because I’m still there but know that it is nothing you are doing or did. Sometimes these things just happen (I know it sucks when it happens to you). As for the stress factors, leave them aside. Right now your priorities are taking care of yourself and being strong for your beautiful babies.

    My thoughts are with you, your babies and your family.

    • I just need these girls to be inside for a few more weeks, and my Emmanuelle needs to grow grow grow. I’m so happy they got their steroids. Thank you for sharing your story with me; I’m happy to read your daughter is doing well. Thank you for your thoughts. xoxoxo…

  3. The magnesium drip gave me the shakes too, but nothing us mamas can’t handle for our babies! Thinking of you and praying for strong, healthy girls.

    • Renee! Thank you for reading, and thank you for your thoughts and prayers. Yup – I’ll do another mag. drip if I need to; anything for my babies. šŸ™‚

  4. Awe sweets. I was clueless because I couldn’t see your posts, but you will definitely be in my prayers. I’ve seen so many women go through the same course of events and are now home with their beautiful happy little babes. You will be too! Hang in there! xoxo

  5. Oh my goodness I am so sorry! Let’s get your sweet girls to grow as fast and as long as possible!!! You are in my thoughts and prayers. You are so amazing and so strong; your girls are so lucky to have you as their mom! Sending you a big hug!

  6. Holy cow. You have a ton going on. Sending you all the best. Hoping that your BP comes down and your babies get more time to grow inside. I’ll be thinking of you.

  7. Hi. I was contacted by Heidi and she asked if I would be interested in reaching out to you. I was/am in a similar situation. I was first admitted to the hospital at exactly 28 weeks. My cervix was gone and I was dilated to 2 cm. They gave me the steroids, procardia etc. I made it to 30 weeks exactly with my girls and went into active labor. They were born on September 10th. My Lilah weighed 3lbs and My Olivia weighed 3 lbs 5 oz. It hasn’t been an easy road by any means, but they are okay. If you need to talk or want to talk you can email me anytime at tonisharapp@yahoo.com. I will keep you in my thoughts and just so you know, we have many babies at our NICU that were born around 25-28 weekers. It is so amazing how well they can do now.

    • Thank you for sharing your story. Heidi shared your blog with me; I was actually planning to check it out. Sounds like you and your girls went through a lot; I’m so sorry. I am glad to read they’re doing okay. I will be thinking of you all.

  8. Oh honey, I’m so sorry you are going through this. Thinking of you lots right now and sending all my good thoughts and prayers to you and your girls. I adore the names as well, such lucky ladies to have you as their mama.

  9. I just found your blog and will be thinking of you and your girls and praying for more weeks for them inside your belly. What a traumatic turn of events and my heart goes out to you. I’m a fellow Coloradan who lived on the East Coast and who is a runner, by the way.

    • Thank you so much for your prayers! Where in Colorado are you from? I haven’t run since Two days before my transfer. šŸ˜ aaaaand it’s going to be a while lol.

  10. I saw on a few of the blogs I follow that they mentioned your blog and to send prayers your way. Praying for your babies to stay right where they are for a while and for your health as well!

  11. Oh Allison, I’m so sorry you are going through this. My thoughts and prayers are with you. You have gone through so much but it sounds like you are in good hands. Please try your best to rest those miracle girls of yours need to feel your calmness.

  12. Oh, my dear, I am so sorry to hear this. I am new to your blog but will follow you. I am a twin mom (identical twin girls) and got pre-eclampsia. Has your doc told you that (1) girls develop faster in the womb and (2) that pre-e puts a stress on the pregnancy that makes the babies develop faster? I found those to be true after my OB told me. I will be hoping for you that you can cook them a little longer. Even if not, though, you have done a fantastic job getting this far.

    Check this great blog out – a twin mom to 27 weekers (who are now 4 years old and awesome): http://streamoftheconscious.com

    GOOD LUCK!

    • Oh My gosh, that is so encouraging. I have not heard that about the babies’ development and pre-eclampsia. I hope their development is quickening. I will definitely look at the that blog you mentioned. Thank you so much. xoxo…

Leave a Reply

